Return to Suburi Bokken With Groove (Red)
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Suburi Bokken With Groove (Red) March 8, 2014
Reviewer: Don Arkangel from Fairburn, GA United States  
Very well made bokken. If you want the sound effects you'll need a fast swing. Be careful of overbalancing from the additional weight. One heck of a workout!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
suburi boken June 18, 2011
Reviewer: james from california  
I like this a lot, audio feedback keeps me practicing,useful to tell when tired makes  you sloppy, slow.  makes drills, kata fun,improves technique ,precision

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Custom quality bokken October 5, 2009
Reviewer: Charles Garvin from St. Louis, MO United States  
I do Western and Eastern sword forms and usually have my wasters and bokken custom made by Little Raven Studios, however, this bokken surprised me. It is very high quality red oak with 1/2 inch soku and straight, true lines. The weight corresponds very well with a  katana. The sword feels tough enough to fence with. Very impressed.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
 
Carpentry Leaves Much to be Desired..... August 15, 2009
Reviewer: Jose Cervoni from Grangeville, ID United States  
Has some balance issues, but its alright I guess.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Outstanding Suburi Bokuto May 1, 2009
Reviewer: Juan De Leon Jr from McAllen, TX United States  
This is a very well made suburi bokuto.  It is very well balanced.  I am an Eishin Ryu Iaido student, and my Sensei is very particular on our execution of nukitsuke (horizontal strike), and kirioroshi (vertical strike and final blow).  

With the aid of the groove, it is very helpful to hear if I am doing my strikes/cuts correctly.  It is also one hell of a workout.  

Once I'm done warming up with it, my iaito feels very light and I can execute my kata with precision. I highly recommend this suburi bokuto.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
ignore the 'carpentry' dude's comments July 23, 2008
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Louisville, CO United States  
This isn't intended for 'full contact' whatever that means... it's just for suburi. For this purpose, this thing is great. The groove is supposed to create a whistling noise giving you feedback on the speed and acceleration you achieve.

Total workout. 100 suburi with this and your 500 g shinai feels like a toy...

Anyhow, LARPers (live action role players) this probably isn't for you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good Training Partner May 2, 2006
Reviewer: Will Antonio from Albuquerque, NM United States  
Got my Suburi Bokken today very nice could not wait to try it out. Was very pleased with it. I know it will help me improve my kendo. A must have.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice Bokken April 27, 2006
Reviewer: Alain Poli from Horw, Luzern Switzerland  
Truly can recommend this one. The Wood feels very comfortable and has a beautiful color. Doing Suburi makes now lot of fun ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Impressive masterpiece April 27, 2006
Reviewer: Hoek Hans from Oranjestad, Aruba  
Finally it arrived and what a beauty... Doing suburi with this bokuto is something else than swinging a normal bokken! You just have to hear the wood make sound. And the funny thing is, your circulation starts pumping after several suburi's giving that pumpy feeling. I must advise, not for kids... It's quite a workout for the shoulders and biceps.
In our dojo we do 1000 suburi with a shinai, don't even think you can do it with this one. Well done e-bogu, I'll let you know if I can do a 1000 suburi's!

Was this review helpful to you?