Return to High Quality Oak Bokuto (1 m) Red
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Really good May 30, 2014
Reviewer: Xiao from Queens, NY United States  
The finish is a little too dark, almost black, but that's just a nitpick. The wood grain looks fantastic and it has a good heft to it. Solid product.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent April 21, 2014
Reviewer: Chris P from Mustang, OK United States  
As always top quality product from e bogu

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Good! March 23, 2014
Reviewer: Tanya Gomez from Miami, FL United States  
Very Good!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
First Bokken February 23, 2014
Reviewer: Emmanuel Sevilla from San Diego, CA United States  
I can't complain much.  This is my first Bokken and I got it mainly for Kendo Kata.  It looks better than expected, and the weight feels great also.  Definitely better than my friend's bokken from amazon, although I'm not sure of the brand on that one.  Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wonderful February 6, 2014
Reviewer: Shelby M. from OH, United States  
Absolutely well made and very sturdy. Bought it as a gift for my fiancée, hopefully we get plenty of use out if it this summer when we can spar! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good bokken January 31, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
The impression at the fist practice with this is that feels very light and sharp. It is perfectly enough for me. And another great thing is cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good choice for first bokken July 12, 2013
Reviewer: David E from Carlsbad, CA United States  
I used this as my first bokken for iaido and kendo kata. Mine came with a minor flaw in the wood which later developed into a small crack, but it lasted through months of use including contact drills. So, even if you get an imperfect one, it will still be pretty durable.

The dark finish looks great when it's new, but lighter wood can show through eventually if you are using this for paired exercises with blade-blade contact. It still looks okay, though.

The optional bag that you can order with this bokuto is nice, but kendoka should note that it is too short for a shinai and your tsuba will stick out if you try to use it for both swords.

It feels like it has about the same weight, shape, and balance as the e-bogu master quality bokken. I think the difference is probably quality of wood, finish, and durability.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Bokken, Amazing Finish! September 27, 2012
Reviewer: Elan Spector from Greenbelt Maryland  
Arrived perfect, aside from a small impact from shipping. This a practice sword, not a glass chandelier, so I'm not going to nitpick about it

My first impression was WOW! The finish is spectacular. Such a lovely hue and texture. I saw what some of the other reviewers were talking about with the Tsuba grind, but personally, I don't mind that one bit. It helps me keep my hands in place.

Only thing I'm worried about is the finish. In retrospect, an unfinished bokken would have been more practical, especially since I don't have a bag to carry it in yet, and it gets all sorts of chips in the finish just from bumping it into things. That's my fault though. I can always rub some finish into it if it ends up looking like driftwood!

It feels very solid, and the weight is balanced well. Very good, especially for the price point. The finish and feel make it worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Top Quality November 28, 2008
Reviewer: Benjamin Schmitz from Albuquerque, NM United States  
Now, obviously during hard practice, oiling can save you a lot, this is an excellent weight bokken if you are interested in the physics of a live Katana without bo-bi, and as a Kenjutsu/Bottajutsu practice weapon, is is grand. It also handles impacts extremely well. The tsuba tends to be related to the luck of the draw, as the tsuba on mine was quite tight, and if used in proper form (aside from popping our of a saya) you will not really touch the tsuba, and it will not move from swings. It is a little bulkier than a usual bokken, which better imitates sword feel, but makes you ill prepared for the grip of a Shinai, and as such, is likely not an ideal piece for Kendo Kata, although, for Iai, I can imagine no better Bokuto.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice May 14, 2007
Reviewer: Nichole from Lakeland, FL United States  
The finish is very nice and I like the weight.  Some bokken I've used are way too heavy but this one is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items