Return to Top quality BUTOKU Brand HiDriTex Aikido Uniform Set
Sort By::
Page of 3
Previous    Click to see more items


  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great comfort and durability June 11, 2011
Reviewer: Mike from Albany, OR  
I have been using this gi for around 2 years now, and it is still in great shape. I am 5' 8', 170 lbs., semi-muscular build, and a size 3 fits great. Like other reviewers have stated, sleeves are a little long but shrink with first washing. I have found this gi can be dried on an ultra low setting without further shrinkage. The HiDriTex lining works fairly well, helping increase air circulation during rigorous training, but the best thing about the top is that it is both a very strong but also very relaxed and pliable. It really is the most comfortable piece of clothing I own. The lapel area is well reinforced for kata dori, and the collar is strong without digging in. By comparison, my Mizuno gi (which I still like) is rough and confining.
After the initial shrinking, the pants are short and out of the way, which I like. Also nicely reinforced at the knees.
The pliable, comfortable fit of this gi really allows me to exercise my best ukemi, I highly recommend it to other aikidoka.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great quality, great price November 8, 2010
Reviewer: Anon from United States  
Just cant beat the price of this gi considering the quality.  Only thing is the top takes forever to dry.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great gi - cool material October 12, 2010
Reviewer: SBPilotBB from Carpinteria, CA United States  
My order was shipped within a business day of placement, and the product arrived as expected.  The top is a great weight -- not too stiff but with plenty of strength.  The HiDriTex material is basically a synthetic mesh sewn into the top where it's most likely to stick to the skin.  The pants are a nice, white, durable fabric with great craftsmanship.  Wish the pants were sold separately -- I'd pick up an extra pair for practice.  I'm 5' 9", 155 pounds and a size 3 is a perfect fit.  A 4 would have been too big.  Care instructions state that the gi not be put in a hot dryer; a thinner material might air dry overnight after a wash, but I think this fabric is too thick for that.  If you intend to dry it the sizing gets more complicated, but that's true of any garment like this.  Would definitely recommend and might even pick up another set myself.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
BUTOKU September 21, 2010
Reviewer: Gennady Koklin from Krasnogorsk, Province of Moscow Russia  
Great! Do not expect such good quality! Light, pleasant to the touch, and mesh inside Thank you! I hope my "ki" significantly raised with your help.
Ïðåêðàñíî! Íå îæèäàë òàêîãî îòëè÷íîãî êà÷åñòâà! ˸ãêèå,  ïðèÿòíûå íà îùóïü, à ñåòî÷êà âíóòðè!Ñïàñèáî! Íàäåþñü ìî¸ "êè" çíà÷èòåëüíî âûðàñòèë ñ Âàøåé ïîìîùüþ.

Was this review helpful to you?

  2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
 
butoku aikidogi with hidritex - thank you ebogu. May 6, 2010
Reviewer: santoshi dojo from bluff city, TN United States  
5 star gi:

Cut:  this gi is  "aikido cut."  The sleeves are above the wrist, two fingers pre wash four fingers post warm wash-dryer, perfect!
The jackets cut is perfect l, fits well - not baggy or saggy yet not tight or restrictive.  The skirt is just right, not brazilian cut tiny and not judogi long.  The jacket stays closed and gives a clean professional appearence.
The pants rest on your hips.  The length is just above the foot pre wash, well above the ankle post warm wash-dryer.  Again, perfect.  I like the thickness of the pants, great for protection yet unrestrictive - thick but not heavy.

Hidritex - this material does what it claims.  However it is only in the upper torso area and sleeves, not in the skirt or in the pants.  It keeps the cotton from sticking to you, very nice.  I do wish it was in the pants.  

The gi material is in between soft and rough, leaning more toward soft.  Its weight is good, not too heavy so it breaths well. - 100% quality










Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Uniform April 29, 2010
Reviewer: Michael McNam from Brea, CA United States  
Just got this aikido uniform a couple weeks ago. The material is heavy enough and the collar is strong. I had noticed it seemed a bit long in the sleeves (for wrist grabs) and pants, but washing does significantly shrink them to perfect size. Remember to get your size accurate when ordering. I couldn't be more pleased with this product and will shop here for more items in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Uniform March 14, 2010
Reviewer: CKH from QLD Australia  
Gi is supple and soft compared to the Adidas one I've been using. Pant material is thick and strong. I've always personally preferred to have the pant inseam above my ankles. Saved me a visit to the tailor.


Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
Highly recommend this January 7, 2010
Reviewer: Ryan from Toronto, ON, Canada  
If like me it's been a while since you bought or used a traditional Japanese martial arts uniform, you are in for a treat! Gone are the days of cardboard-stiff gi, with edges that chafe your neck and forearms and take FOREVER to break in. This gi is SUPER comfortable, well made, fits beautifully, and looks great.

One note to those who complain about the sizing:

1) Sizing the gi correctly really is your responsibility, and you need to make sure you have the correct size when ordering. Also, if you are new to Japanese martial arts, be aware that gi pants are SUPPOSED to be short (those of you from a TKD background will be used to a longer pant). Believe me, when you're in a deep lunge or as Uke being chucked on your face or dragged across the mats, you will be thankful that your pants aren't tripping you up - a few inches above the ankle is CORRECT.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
the sizes is grong / las tallas estan mal September 6, 2009
Reviewer: Giscar Pardo from bogota, bogota Colombia  
el Gi me gusto bastante son de muy buena calidad, pero tuve un grave problema, pedi uno para un amigo y me guié por la estatura sugerida, el mide 188cm segun ustedes su talla seria la 5 y oh sorpresa le queda gigantesto, no grande gigantesco le llega casi a la rodilla la chaqueta, de hombros es apenas, pero el largo es absurdo!! y lo peor esos nos los compro un amigo de la florida y me los envio asi q reenviarlos desde aca, colombia a la florida y de ahi a ustedes, me sale por el doble de precio del Gi, asi q ni modo de cambiarlo. y ahora q hacemos con un Gi q es para alguien q mida minimo unos 200cm aca no tengo como venderlo, y la confeccion es tan buena que ninguma modista se atreve a rehacerlo, ah!! como les parece mi problema. lo unico que veo por hacer es pedir uno que si le quede bueno a mi amigo solo que no estoy seguro de cual talla pedir si 3 o 4, y perder el dinero del que ya compramos y no se guardarlo de recuerdo. !! alguien que me de una luz, gracias

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent Quality + Value August 15, 2009
Reviewer: Carlo A from Toronto, ON Canada  
I was a tiny bit disappointed the hi-dri-tex was only in mesh form, and not woven into the fabric or at least in fabric form (like a polyester tech shirt).. The sizing proportions don't match my 152 lb 6 foot frame: the sleeves are short by 2" but have more room than my Fuji gi, the pants are 3 to 4" above my ankle.. This is with a size 3; but with the back-ordered size 4, I know the length will be fixed, at the expense of a looser sleeve.. I am very impressed with the quality of the cotton weave.. After washing w/o fabric softener, the cotton is still soft, despite being judo/aikido single weave thickness.. The weave on the torso is smooth and supple.. The draw strings on the pants draw the waist without any snags.. The double weaving on the kness goes from knee to ankle.. The hi-dri-tex mesh starts from back, through torso, and ends on the wrist.. The sale price is extremely great value.. If the sale price is maintained, I would recommend this gi to everyone..

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous    Click to see more items