Return to Top Quality Bokken with Groove (1 m)
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Bokken March 31, 2014
Reviewer: STEPHAN QUIRIAULT from LAVALTRIE, QC Canada  
Very Well made.
Bought for Iaido and I'm very happy with it.
Bo-Hi(Blood groove) are appreciate for Iai.
Scabard, Tsuba and bag worth the prize.
Jet fast shipping.
Thanks


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nicer than I expected October 22, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Springfield, VA United States  
I got this bokuto with the plastic saya and tsuba.  I was expecting something much flimsier, figuring that I'd just have something to mess around with until I really learned control (after a few classes).  But this bokken is hefty (but not unwieldy) and much sturdier than I could have hoped.  I would definitely recommend this bokken, even at twice the price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice Bokken July 22, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Pasadena  
I am a new practitioner of Shinkendo so take that into consideration for my review. This is a smooth light weight bokken. My instructors liked the weight but criticized the groove as being impractical for a bokken and it was useless for contact drills. So I use it for everything but contact drills. The grooves do make a Tachikaze swoosh sound. Whether or not its because you were doing correctly I am unsure. But when Obata Kaiso used it to correct me, it swooshed each time. I knocked a star off because I got a splinter in my palm only a month into using it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nice Bokuto for Iaido July 3, 2010
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Corvallis, OR United States  
I'm practising both kendo and iaido. This bokuto is sightly heavier than other bokuto. The groove makes a low pitch whistle when you are doing a cut with a correct angle. I would recommend not to use this bokuto for kendo kata as this will damage the groove when hitting with an opponent's bokuto.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Maybe not great for new folks like me. February 25, 2009
Reviewer: Jason Titus from Salt Lake City, UT United States  
I so far love this Boken I am a new person to Kendo and Iaido so I think for me I should have gone with another Boken to start, this one is lighter then the red oak ones we use at my dojo and I think for very new people the cut sound is not so important being I find my self trying to make cool sounds rather then slow sturdy cuts and I wish it had more weight to it, I think ill order a red oak one and save this guy tell I know more of the art, as far as quality I am very happy with it is balanced (as far as I can tell any way) and it dos swing very nice, one I learn more I think it will serve me very well!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Very Nice January 21, 2008
Reviewer: Wesley Myers from Dundurn, SK Canada  
This bokken is very well made and handles very well.  The groove will definately help any Kendoka/Kumdoin to improve their swing - you only get a very nice wind whistling sound when you put effort behind an accurate cut.  It will especially help any new martial artist to realise if they are being lazy in their strikes.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great product. September 17, 2006
Reviewer: Balsaux Grégory from Lagarrigue, tarn France  
A very well balanced bokken that seems to be very light when you use it. The grooves make a pretty and clear sound and help you to make good moves. The finition and tougthness are outstanding for this price and it comes with the exellant customer service from ebogu. A great bokken for a low price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Product Review September 11, 2006
Reviewer: Daniel Low from Glen Waverley, Victoria Australia  
This particular bokken is a really good practice tool for both Iaido and Kendo. It can be used to do suburi (swinging practice), and Kiritsuke for Iaido. The Hi (groove) embedded in the bokken makes a sound when your cuts are correct, which is one of the things that makes this bokken a great product. Quality finish ensures it will last for a while to come.

Was this review helpful to you?

  3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
 
great product April 27, 2006
Reviewer: Jeff from here  
wow, this bokken is very pretty.  mine was almost perfectly straight, the groove is cut cleanly, the curviture is outstanding, and the sound it makes is very cool.  all in all, i would say that it is probably one of my favorites that i own.  be careful when you swing it around, though, it is deceptively top heavy.  when you first hold it, it feels very light, but that is mainly because the weight is not distributed normally due to the groove.  after you swing it for a while, you will begin to understand, but i suppose that if you get used to that, it will become an advantage for you.   a definite buy for those looking to improve their technique and those who want to look really cool.

p.s.: the tsuba is a tight fit, the one they provide is likely the only one you will find that fits it.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
great bokken April 27, 2006
Reviewer: Mike  Lane from Fort Myers, FL United States  
The bokken I got is great. When I first got it I thought it was a little to light but realized after comparing with my other bokken to be pretty close in weight. The balance and finish are outstanding. Everyone in my dojo was really impressed with the quality. The groove really helps when you get the hang of it


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items